• The President Killed His Wife
  • Counterblow
  • Never Bloodless
  • The Atomic Eagle
  • Sigma Division
  • The Kennedy Secret
  • The Gilded Treachery
  • Histats

Easy Medallions with Balsamic Vinegar and Maple Syrup Reduction Sauce

I tried hunting once. Really, I did. All I caught was frostbite and a cold. This sucks because I’m a fan of wild meats. I guess you could say I hate the players but I love the game *rimshot*

Anyway, I’m lucky enough to have some people in my family who are quite capable of supplying me with venison, caribou, and moose on a semi-regular basis. But frankly it gets old to just eat that in the traditional way (pan-fried with mashed potatoes).

So I went looking for a solution for the wonderful piece of deer meat I had on hand. Can’t quite remember what kind of cut it was but it lent itself perfectly to making medallions. I found this wonderful recipe from La Ferme Martinette, a place that specializes in fine maple products. It’s one of the most awesome recipe I ever made at home. Like, seriously.

Credit: Ferme Martinette

Obviously, rebel that I am, I didn’t quite follow their instructions.

This said, this sauce doesn’t have to be just for venison. It would be amazing for beef also. This is how I made it.

That’s enough for 3-4 people.

* 1 tbsp oil
* 1 tbsp butter
* meat
* steak seasonings or Salt and pepper, to taste

Cut your meat in medallions (fancy way of saying slices) and sprinkle steak seasonings on both sides. You don’t have any? Just use salt and pepper.

Sear in frying pan with equal parts oil and butter. Cook them until your preferred level of doneness. Keep in mind though that venison can become tough if overcooked.

Set the meat aside and allow it to rest by covering with foil.

Sauce

* 1 tbsp oil
* 1 small onion, diced finely
* 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
* 1/4 cup maple syrup
* 1/2 cup beef stock
* 1/2 cup cooking cream
* 1 tbsp dried mustard and 1 tbsp creamy Dijon mustard

Heat oil in the same frying pan as before and onions for 1 minute over medium-high heat.

Add balsamic vinegar and reduce for about 2 minutes, stirring constantly, until syrupy.

Add maple syrup and reduce for another 2 minutes, constantly stirring.

Add beef stock and allow it to reduce by half.

Add cream with mustards mixed in (easier this way; if you only have one kind of spicy mustard just use that) and stir for 1 minute.

That’s it! Serve over your meat.

Leave a Reply

