• The President Killed His Wife
  • Counterblow
  • Never Bloodless
  • The Atomic Eagle
  • Sigma Division
  • The Kennedy Secret
  • The Gilded Treachery
  • Histats

In search of an easy and succulent tomato sauce

Pasta is one of my favorite food groups. Yes, you read that right. If it was up to me the four basic food groups would be: beer, chips, soda, and pasta.

I already have a killer spaghetti sauce which comes from my grandmother, has been adapted by my mom, and further enhanced by me. I may share it with you guys one day. The thing is, this is a meat sauce which takes an hour to make and three hours to cook.

What I want is a quick sauce that’s easy to make when I don’t feel like a meat sauce. I’ve tried those Ragu types of ready-made products and find them all vile. I’m also not a big fan of marinara sauce, too… bland?

So I’ve embarked on a culinary adventure to design my own red sauce I can use on pasta. What I was essentially looking at is the addition of spices to a canned tomato sauce.

Here was my first attempt.

  • 1 can of tomato sauce (7.5 oz)
    3 tablespoons grated Parmesan
    1 teaspoon Italian herbs
    1 teaspoon onion powder
    1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
    1 tablespoon cream cheese

I brought this up to a simmer and only then did I add the cream cheese.

Okay, I cheated. By adding cream cheese it became a rosé sauce. Sue me. I used this on baked manicotti smothered in mozzarella cheese.

The verdict: First thoughts, too much red pepper flakes. That thing was crazy hot, which is fine for boring foods like chicken but not necessarily awesome for pasta. Also, I found the sauce a little thick. As for taste, it was still too store-bought tomato-y.

I shall have to experiment some more…

 

 

Leave a Reply

