• The President Killed His Wife
  • Counterblow
  • Never Bloodless
  • The Atomic Eagle
  • Sigma Division
  • The Kennedy Secret
  • The Gilded Treachery
  • Histats

Easy Pork Tenderloin in Mustard Sauce

It’s summertime and the livin’ is easy (thank you George Gershwin… and Billy Stewart for the jumping version)! Tired of using your BBQ to grill steaks all the time? I have something almost as easy: pork tenderloin. It’s the most moist (say that three times fast) and tender part of the animal so it doesn’t have to be slow-cooked like ribs or a roast for maximal effect.

This is my go-to pork recipe when I want to put together an awesome meal with little effort. You’ll find a bunch of advice on the intertubes telling you to brine the meat beforehand. Tried it once, didn’t do anything. As I said, the tenderloin is already tender. Oh my God, could it be why they called it tenderloin?!

The mustard sauce recipe will follow at the end of this post. First I want to talk about the pig proper.

When you purchase it in the counter it will most likely come in a pack of two tenderloins. This is enough for six people as I count one third of a tenderloin per person. How’s my math? Pretty awesome, right?! Another thing that is awesome is that you can buy pre-marinated meat at the supermarket. So you can mix things up if you want a teriyaki night or a herbs-and-sun-dried-tomatoes rumble.

If I’m not buying pre-marinated, I like to dredge my meat (here I go sounding kinky again) with steak seasonings, something like Montreal steak spices or something of that ilk.

To cook the meat you have a number of options. You can cook the tenderloin whole, flipping it every four minutes (four sides, thus 16 minutes). You can cut it in thirds and cook it for about 10 minutes. Finally, you may wish to do slices and it will go as fast as a beef steak. Common wisdom from people in white lab coats is that the pork should reach an internal temperature of 145 degrees Fahrenheit. I wouldn’t know, I don’t probe the thing personally. I do like it pink in the middle. They say it’s okay now.

And now for the Dijon Mustard Cream Sauce! You will need:

1 teaspoon of garlic powder
1 teaspoon of onion powder
1 cup of warm chicken broth (instant powder/water is fine)
1 cup of cream (cooking cream is best)
3 tablespoons of Dijon mustard

Put everything in a saucepan, mix well. Bring to a boil and then let simmer until desired thickness.

I told you this is a superduper easy recipe but if you want to be fancy-schmancy you can use instead one minced garlic clove and some real onions. I didn’t have to season with salt and pepper because my chicken broth was already salty and the spices on the pork were hot.

This sauce works incredibly well with pork and is even more delicious with lamb.

Curious about the veggies in the pictures? Just some fresh carrots which I quartered and some new potatoes. I covered them with a little olive oil, sprinkled some garden-style seasonings, topped with about two tablespoons of butter, and wrapped in two layers of aluminum foil. It went on the grill 30 minutes, flipping over halfway (be careful when you do so, the oil can leak out and burst into flames).

Enjoy!

Can you tell I’m a writer? I turned a five-line recipe into a Lord of the Rings sequel. By the way, you still have time to pick up The Kennedy Secret while it’s on sale for $0.99. Do it quickly because in August I’m jacking it so high you’ll need a second mortgage to get my book! Well, we’ll see…

2 Responses

  1. Hm, I was just planning on having spaghetti for dinner, but that looks pretty good… 😉

  2. 15 minutes of prep, 30 minutes for cooking, but 175 minutes to go shopping for farm-fresh ingredients in the countryside. Real quick recipe, Lindsay! 😉

    Real good and easy though…

Leave a Reply

