• The President Killed His Wife
  • Counterblow
  • Never Bloodless
  • The Atomic Eagle
  • Sigma Division
  • The Kennedy Secret
  • The Gilded Treachery
  • Histats

Picture me rollin’: Heaven is hidden in lobster rolls

Can you just buy lobster meat? I actually don’t know since I’ve never even looked for it. I’m a third-generation lobster aficionado and in the summertime we usually buy some live ones, boil them, and serve them with garlic butter and crushed soda crackers. You dip it in both and roll your eyes in ecstasy.

That’s what we did last weekend and had some leftover lobster meat. My usual salvaging solution involves mixing the crustacean with some cubed avocado and a spicy ketchup/mayo sauce. But then I wanted to emulate Boy George i.e. I wanted to be different.

Enter the idea of lobster dogs. As always, I scoured the web for ideas and got hooked on Chef Laura’s Maine lobster roll recipe as well as this other Nova Scotian lobster roll concoction from allrecipes.com.

As is tradition in my family, I went my pig-headed way and infused my dinner with my own ideas and what I had in my pantry. So here is my super easy

Summer Lobster Dog

Ingredients:

  • The meat of half a lobster
  • 4 hard-boiled eggs
  • 1/2 cup of mayonnaise
  • 1 big tablespoon of Dijon mustard
  • 1 big tablespoon of lemon juice
  • 1 big tablespoon of dried basil
  • Freshly grated Parmesan, to taste (I use 3-4 tablespoons)
  • 8-10 hot dog buns

Preparation:

  1. Go lobster fishing (failing that, buy it)
  2. The best way to cook a lobster is to boil some water in a large pot. Once it boils, put the lobster in it, cover with a lid, and count 8 minutes. This will give you perfectly cooked tender meat every time, no matter the size of your animal or how many you put in the pot. Trust me and don’t believe the 15-minute/pound you hear everywhere, that’s a surefire way to get tough meat.
  3. Cook your hard-boiled eggs; I’ll assume you know how to do this.
  4. By the way, make sure your eggs and lobster are cold when making this recipe.
  5. Chop finely the eggs and the lobster meat (you can leave bigger chunks if you want, I like mine food-processorized).
  6. Mix the mayonnaise, Dijon mustard, lemon juice, Parmesan cheese, and basil together.
  7. Add the eggs and lobster meat. Mix well.
  8. Refrigerate for a couple of hours (even better the next day).
  9. Butter your hot dog buns lightly and grill them to your liking.
  10. Stuff the buns (oooh, this sounds kinky) with the mixture.

It should yield 8 to 10 dogs, depending on your generosity in the stuffing process.

So tell me if you try it and let me know what you think! (and yes, I know the pictures suck and don’t do justice to this succulent sandwich)

Leave a Reply

